SFBAFCC 2023 Awards

SFBAFCC Awards for Achievement in Film Categories

We are pleased to announce the winners for 2023.

Best Picture

  • “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • “Oppenheimer” (WINNER)
  • “Past Lives”
  • “Poor Things”
  • “The Zone of Interest”

Best Director

  • Celine Song, “Past Lives”
  • Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer”
  • Greta Gerwig, “Barbie”
  • Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest” (WINNER)
  • Martin Scorsese, “Killers of the Flower Moon”

Best Original Screenplay

  • Celine Song, “Past Lives” (WINNER)
  • David Hemigson, “The Holdovers”
  • Greta Gerwig, Noah Baumbach, “Barbie”
  • Justine Triet, Arthur Harari, “Anatomy of a Fall”
  • Samy Burch, “May December”

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Andrew Haigh, “All of Us Strangers”
  • Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer”
  • Cord Jefferson, “American Fiction” (WINNER)
  • Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest”
  • Tony McNarma, “Poor Things”

Best Actor

  • Andrew Scott, “All of Us Strangers”
  • Bradley Cooper, “Maestro”
  • Cillian Murphy, “Oppenheimer”
  • Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction” (WINNER)
  • Paul Giamatti, “The Holdovers”

Best Actress

  • Emma Stone, “Poor Things” (WINNER)
  • Greta Lee, “Past Lives”
  • Lily Gladstone, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • Margot Robbie, “Barbie”
  • Sandra Hüller, “Anatomy of a Fall”

Best Supporting Actor

  • Charles Melton, “May December”
  • Mark Ruffalo, “Poor Things”
  • Robert Downey Jr, “Oppenheimer” (WINNER)
  • Ryan Gosling, “Barbie”
  • Sterling K. Brown, “American Fiction”

Best Supporting Actress

  • Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers” (WINNER)
  • Emily Blunt, “Oppenheimer”
  • Jodie Foster, “Nyad”
  • Rachel McAdams, “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret”
  • Sandra Hüller, “The Zone of Interest”

Best Animated Feature

  • “The Boy and the Heron” (WINNER)
  • “Elemental”
  • “Nimona”
  • “Robot Dreams”
  • “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”

Best International Feature Film

  • “Anatomy of a Fall”
  • “Fallen Leaves”
  • “The Taste of Things”
  • “Perfect Days”
  • “The Zone of Interest” (WINNER)

Best Documentary Feature

  • “20 Days in Mariupol” (WINNER)
  • “American Symphony”
  • “Beyond Utopia”
  • “Menu Plaisirs – Les Troigros”
  • “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie”

Best Cinematography

  • Hoyte van Hoytema, “Oppenheimer” (WINNER)
  • Lukas Zal, “The Zone of Interest”
  • Robbie Ryan, “Poor Things”
  • Rodrigo Prieto, “Barbie”
  • Rodrigo Prieto, “Killers of the Flower Moon”

Best Production Design

  • Adam Stockhausen, “Asteroid City”
  • Jack Fisk, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • James Price (Production Designer), Shona Heath (Production Designer), Szusza Mihalek (Set Decorator), “Poor Things”
  • Ruth De Jong, “Oppenheimer”
  • Sarah Greenwood, “Barbie” (WINNER)

Best Film Editing

  • Jennifer Lame, “Oppenheimer”
  • Laurent Senechal, “Anatomy of a Fall”
  • Paul Watts, “The Zone of Interest” (WINNER)
  • Thelma Schoonmaker, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • Yorgos Mavropsaridis, “Poor Things”

Best Original Score

  • Daniel Pemberton, “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”
  • Jerskin Fendrix, “Poor Things”
  • Ludwig Göransson, “Oppenheimer”
  • Mica Levi, “The Zone of Interest”
  • Robbie Robertson, “Killers of the Flower Moon” (WINNER)

Special Citation for Independent Cinema

  • “The Blue Caftan”
  • “Earth Mama” (WINNER – Tie)
  • “Fremont” (WINNER – Tie)

Marlon Riggs Award

(We award the Marlon Riggs to Bay Area filmmaker(s) or individual(s) who represents courage and innovation in the world of cinema.)

  • H.P. Mendoza
    • For being such a Bay Area force and being a beacon of creativity, inspiration and expression. His last film attests to his versatility and his deft comedic hand. t’s been quite a year for the San Francisco native. First, he transformed his 2021 art installation, Attack! Decay! Release!, into a moving, raucous multimedia extravaganza melding a feature film with live performance. Then, he premiered his latest feature, “The Secret Art of Human Flight,” at Tribeca, and toured with it on the festival circuit through the rest of year, collecting awards along the way. His first film not made from his own script, it never the less continues his ongoing exploration of the ties that bind.