SFBAFCC 2022 Awards

SFBAFCC Awards for Achievement in Film Categories

We are pleased to announce the winners for 2022.

Best Picture

  • “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (Honorable Mention)
  • “Tár”
  • “The Banshees of Inisherin” (WINNER)
  • “The Fabelmans”
  • “Women Talking”

Best Director

  • Charlotte Wells, “Aftersun”
  • Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
  • Martin McDonagh, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Sarah Polley, “Women Talking”
  • Steven Spielberg, “The Fabelmans”
  • Todd Field, “Tár” (WINNER)

Best Original Screenplay

  • Charlotte Wells, “Aftersun”
  • Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
  • Martin McDonagh, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Todd Field, “Tár” (WINNER)
  • Tony Kushner, Steven Spielberg, “The Fabelmans”

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Kazuo Ishiguro, “Living”
  • Rebecca Lenkiewicz, “She Said”
  • Rian Johnson, “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”
  • Samuel D. Hunter, “The Whale”
  • Sarah Polley, “Women Talking” (WINNER)

Best Actor

  • Austin Butler, “Elvis”
  • Bill Nighy, “Living”
  • Brendan Fraser, “The Whale”
  • Colin Farrell, “The Banshees of Inisherin” (WINNER)
  • Paul Mescal, “Aftersun”

Best Actress

  • Aubrey Plaza, “Emily the Criminal”
  • Cate Blanchett, “Tár” (WINNER)
  • Danielle Deadwyler, “Till”
  • Emma Thompson, “Good Luck to You, Leo Grande”
  • Mia Goth, “Pearl”
  • Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best Supporting Actor

  • Anthony Hopkins, “Armageddon Time”
  • Barry Keoghan, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Ben Whishaw, “Women Talking”
  • Brendan Gleeson, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
  • Tom Hanks, “Elvis”

Best Supporting Actress

  • Angela Bassett, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”
  • Claire Foy, “Women Talking”
  • Dolly De Leon, “Triangle of Sadness”
  • Jamie Lee Curtis, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER – Tie)
  • Kerry Condon, “The Banshees of Inisherin” (WINNER – Tie)
  • Nina Hoss, “Tár”

Best Animated Feature

  • “Apollo 10½: A Space Age Childhood”
  • “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” (WINNER)
  • “Marcel the Shell With Shoes On”
  • “Puss in Boots: The Last Wish”
  • “Turning Red”

Best International Feature Film

  • “All Quiet on the Western Front”
  • “Argentina, 1985”
  • “Close”
  • “Decision to Leave” (WINNER)
  • “EO”

Best Documentary Feature

  • “All That Breathes” (WINNER)
  •  “All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”
  • “Bad Axe”
  • “Fire of Love”
  • “Good Night Oppy”
  • “Navalny”

Best Cinematography

  • Ben Davis, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Claudio Miranda, “Top Gun: Maverick”
  • Florian Hoffmeister, “Tár” (WINNER)
  • Janusz Kaminski, “The Fabelmans”
  • Kim Ji-yong, “Decision to Leave”
  • Linus Sandgren, “Babylon”

Best Production Design

  • Florencia Martin (production designer), Anthony Carlino (set decorator), “Babylon”
  • Hannah Beachler (production designer), Lisa K. Sessions (set decorator), “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”
  • Jason Isvarday (production designer), Kelsi Ephraim (set decorator), “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
  • Mark Tildesley (production designer), Michael Standish (set decorator), “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Rick Heinrichs (production designer), Elli Griff (set decorator), “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”

Best Film Editing

  • Blair McClendon, “Aftersun”
  • Eddie Hamilton, “Top Gun: Maverick”
  • Mikkel E.G. Nielsen, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Monika Willi, “Tár”
  • Paul Rogers, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
  • Tom Cross, “Babylon”

Best Original Score

  • Alexandre Desplat, “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio”
  • Carter Burwell, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Hildur Guðnadóttir, “Women Talking” (WINNER)
  • John Williams, “The Fabelmans”
  • Justin Hurwitz, “Babylon”

Special Citation for Independent Cinema

  • “Emergency” (WINNER)
  • “Servants”
  • “Topside”

Marlon Riggs Award

(We award the Marlon Riggs to Bay Area filmmaker(s) or individual(s) who represents courage and innovation in the world of cinema.)

  • Phil Tippett
    • We are also pleased to honor long time Berkeley resident Phil Tippett. For “Mad God,” his 30 years in the making film, and for his legendary contributions to the field of animation and visual effects. As the founder of Tippett Studio he has kept the craft alive and well in the Bay Area.